View/Update Profile

Your Timeline Profile contains information that the Timeline uses to determine which posts you should receive. To access your profile:

  1. Login to the Timeline.
  2. Click on the Profile Icon on the top-right corner of the screen.

The top of the display shows a set of tabs, as follows:
About Me, My Groups, My Interests, Account Info, My Devices, About.

On a small screen, additional tabs may be displayed by clicking on the Gear dropdown.

About Me (also the default display)

Displays your login username and your group “automatic” memberships. Membership in a group determines to whom “targeted” posts are sent. If you are a member of a group, and an authorized person sends a post to that group, it will display under My Calendar in Timeline. Many of these group memberships are determined automatically, while others are “open” groups that you can join (see My Groups). This section of the Profile displays the groups in which you are “automatically” enrolled (you cannot leave these groups).

screenshot - reminders iconTo the right, of each listed group, you will see two icons, a Reminders bell, and a Send Posts arrow. Clicking on the Reminders bells lets you set reminders for group posts. The Send Posts icon lets you re-direct group posts to an external calendar. Before you can use either of these icons, you need to make sure that you have specified your email, calendaring and text message information under the Account Info tab (see below).

return to top

My Groups

screenshot - Profile My Groups sub-tabShows the list of open groups which you have joined, and lets you Join a new group or leave a group. To join a group, click on Join Groups, then click on the green + icon. To leave a group, click the red X icon. If the group membership is not private, you can click on the Members icon to see a list of group members. 

screenshot - reminders iconYou will also see two icons, a Reminders bell, and a Send Posts arrow. Clicking on the Reminders bells lets you set reminders for group posts. The Send Posts icon lets you re-direct group posts to an external calendar. Before you can use either of these icons, you need to make sure that you have specified your email, calendaring and text message information under the Account Info tab.

return to top

My Interestsscreenshot - profile my interest sub-tab

Displays the tags to which you are subscribed. If you have subscribed to a tag, and someone sends out a tagged post which contains that tag, or any sub-tag of that tag (tags are arranged hierarchically), then you will see the post in the Events tab with your My Interests filter on. The display shows the tags you have currently selected (subscribed to), and lists all available tags. To select a tag, click its check box. If the tag has sub-tags, you can click the arrow to see and select any of the sub-tags.

return to top

Account Info

Lets you specify email addresses, cell phone numbers and external calendars (Google or Exchange). You can direct the Timeline to send targeted posts to these external systems (e.g., you could have targeted posts sent to your Google calendar).

To add a cell phone number: click Add Cell Phone then fill in your name, cell phone number and carrier. Click the check mark to save.

To add a calendar, click Add Calendar then enter your name and select the calendar type. Click the check mark to save. Follow instructions in About Me or My Groups above to redirect posts to your calendar.

A note about calendar types: the Timeline currently supports synchronization with three types of calendars: Google, Exchange (Outlook) and Office 365. If you select Google, the Timeline will redirect you to your Google account so that you can authorize the Timeline to update your calendar. Note: Browsers popups MUST be enabled for this to work. If you do not know how to enable popups in your browser, please contact the OIT HelpDesk (8-help). If you select Exchange or Office 365, Timeline will display instructions on how to authorize it to update your Exchange or Office 365 calendar. If you are unsure of how to follow these instructions please contact the OIT HelpDesk (8-help).

To remove a cell phone or calendar, click the trashcan icon.

return to top

My Devices

Lists the devices you have used to access the Timeline. When you login to the Timeline from a device, you can specify that the Timeline should “remember” this device — you will no longer be prompted for a password when you next login to Timeline from this device. If you believe that a device has been compromised, you can go to this display and remove the device by clicking the red X. You will then have to login when next you access the Timeline from this device.

return to top

About

Lists version and contact information for the Timeline.

return to top