Join or Leave a Group

screenshot - profile join groupsThe Timeline supports three types of groups: Closed Groups, Moderated Groups and Open Groups. Membership in closed groups is determined by the Timeline system itself. If you are not a member of a closed group of which you think you should be, please contact the Timeline administrator. Membership in moderated groups is controlled by the group administrator(s). Membership in an open group is determined by the end users. The rest of this article will discuss joining or leaving Open or Moderated Groups. To see what groups you are currently a member of go to the My Groups sub-tab under Profile.

To join an open or moderated group:

  1. Click on the My Groups sub-tab under Profile – you will be presented with a list of the open and closed groups of which you are a member.
  2. Click on Join Group tab – you will see a list of the groups which you can join.
  3. Click on the Join Group icon on the right (look for the green plus sign).
  4. If the group is open you will be immediately added. If the group is moderated, your request will be routed to a group administrator and you will be notified once your request has been processed.

To leave an open group:

  1. Click on the My Groups sub-tab under Profile – you will be presented with a list of the open and closed groups of which you are a member.
  2. Click on the Leave Group icon on the right (look for the red X).